Today we went to Athens and the Acropolis. Everything was very interesting. I plan to tell you a little bit everyday for a while, just because I can’t find my charger tonight and my camera is dead so I can’t add any more pictures until tomorrow, that is assuming I find the charger.

"Welcome to the old Athens/Welcome to the new Athens"

Part of the Zeus Temple

After we braved the crazy traffic (which is not much unlike the traffic in Riverside) we got to Athens. There are two parts of Athens, the “old” Athens which is the ancient section, and the “new” Athens, where they began building the modern section. There is a cool arch which separates the two parts and on either side is says “Welcome to…” which ever part of Athens you are entering. Just past the arch is a couple pillars. They are what is left of the Zeus temple, which included 104 pillars. This is really big, and you will be able to compare it too the Athenian temple when I get my pictures uploaded to show you those.

The Olympic symbol

The guys: Doug, Greg, Austin, Garrett, and Tommy

the rich guy

We got to stop by the Olympic Stadium. This is the stadium where the first international games were held until they started being held in different parts of the world. The 5 rings were a symbol archaeologists discovered in the area, and now they symbolize the 5 continents. This stadium is not the one used in 2004 though, because there was an earth quake and it is now only used for the running sports. The man who made it possible to build the stadium is depicted in the statue, it was all his hard earned money that paid for the stadium. Here is a picture of the guys trying to duplicate the rings, and obviously failing. 🙂

Another cool fact I learned is why a marathon is 26.2 miles. It is because there was a battle with the Persians in Greece where the Greeks tricked the Persians into a trap where they would have an advantage. The Greeks were small in number and lost a lot of people even though they killed more than they lost. Anyways, this was the battle at Marath

the lower area between the two mountains is Marathon

on, a swamp in between two hills. When the battle was ending, and the Greeks had lost many, many people, this guy ran all the way back to Athens to tell everyone what happened so they could be protected. This guy ran a total of 26.2 miles, relayed the message and then died, probably of a heart attack. This was remembered and used in the Olympic games to commemorate the man who ran the distance to save his people.

P. S. Don’t worry Mom, I am getting pictures of me too, I just know you guys know me, and I want to make it so you feel like you know my friends too.

(to be continued…)

